Local Leaders United

The Rotary Club of Meriwether County unites leaders from all walks of life, amplifying their individual contributions to make Meriwether County and the world a better place to live and work.

  • Join Leaders: Connect with leaders from our community and the world
  • Exchange Ideas: Expand your network and your worldview
  • Take Action: Help create lasting change in our community and other communities around the world
  • Get Directions »

On Tuesday, April 20, 2021, the Rotary Club of Meriwether County hosted the Georgia Rotary Clubs Laws of Life Essay Contest winners. At the meeting, the Rotary Club presented the local school and grade winners for the 2020-2021 contest. Rotary Club of Meriwether County partners with Greenville High School for the contest "Every Student Matters, Every Moment Counts," commented School Principal Mr. Thaddeus Jackson and Department Contest Chair Patissia Childs. Andrey Ferrell, 10th grade, is named School Winner, and Za'niya Partridge, 11th grade, is the Grade Winner. Honorable Mention of student writers includes Diamond Slaton, 12th grade, Rebecca Bryan, 12th grade, Amantavious Ogletree, 11th grade, Tymeshia Mitchell, 11th grade, Amelia Phillips, 10th grade, Kailyn Bynum, 10th grade, Gage Manship, 10th grade, and Tanyja Sessions, 9th grade. Rotary Club of Meriwether County has partnered with Greenville High School on the contest for two years. "Strive for progress because perfection is hard to improve," said Patissia Childs, who serves as contest chair for the club. For the 2020-2021 contest, a total of 25,112 students wrote essays. Georgia Laws of Life and 48 participating Rotary clubs throughout the state awarded over $17,000 in cash prizes. Awards go to 135 school winners and grade winners from 48 high schools. Additional students receive honorable mention recognition. Throughout the spring, winning students will share their essays to enthusiastic audiences at local and district-wide Rotary Club meetings and regional Rotary conferences. Georgia Laws of Life will also feature in social media, winning students reading their essays. Rotary clubs across Georgia conduct the Laws of Life Essay Contest in partnership with local high schools through the nonprofit Georgia Rotary Districts Character Education Program, Inc (GRDCEP). Rotarians volunteer to read and judge essays, serve on the contest's Board of Directors, and volunteer their professional expertise to help build character and ethical literacy among students. "The essay contest is an opportunity for Rotary clubs to share their service above self motto with local students and schools," said Carol Gray Walker, Executive Director for Georgia Laws of Life. Since 1999, the Georgia Laws of Life Essay Contest has impacted over 750,000 students. Inspired by the power of simple quotes, or Laws of Life, Sir John Templeton established the writing competition in the 1970s to encourage young people to embrace the wisdom of these sayings, which he believed, when followed, helps everyone live their best lives. In their essays, students use the law to reflect on values that mean the most to them – values such as generosity, courage, perseverance, honesty, integrity, and compassion. The Georgia Rotary Clubs Laws of Life Essay Contest is made possible through local Rotary Clubs, individual donors, corporations, and a grant from the John Templeton Foundation. Pictured below: (front row)(left to right): Laws of Life students; Anantavious Ogletree, Gage Manship, Kailyn Bynum, Tanya Sessions, Za'niya Partridge, Diamond Slaton, Ahmad Ferrell. (back row) Barbara Nolan, Greenville High School Contest Chairperson Patissia Childs, Bob Patterson, Cliff Elliott, Aaron Mabon, Dawn Hill Woodard, Robert Griffin, Cynthia Sanford Kilby, Faye Clark Perdue, Greenville High School Principal Thad Jackson, Kay Williamson, and Lisa Bennett Thompson

Harrison Summerour spoke to the Meriwether County Rotary Club on Tuesday, March 2, 2021. Harrison explained that he and his family are the new owners of the Cotton Pickin' Fair and he is excited about the Fair opening the first weekend in May. He also talked about the exciting news of the Grand Opening of the Towerhouse Farm Brewery this weekend (Friday, Saturday & Sunday) from 12-6 pm at "The Farmstand" Harrison invited everyone to come out to the town of Gay, GA and enjoy a beer on a beautiful piece of our property featuring food and games. All ages are welcome (and dogs) so bring your family and friends to 91 Germany Road, Gay Georgia. You can find more info on the website at www.towerhousebrewing.com/the-farmstand Pictured below is Faye Clark Faye Clark Perdue and Harrison Summerour.

On Tuesday, December 8, 2020, the members of Meriwether Co Rotary Club assembled 79 Christmas Gift Bags for the residents of the Warm Springs Nursing Home at Warm Springs Medical Center and The Mountain Side Assisted Living Center. We have Heart for our Seniors.

Great Visit with District Governor Kirk Driskell on September 15, 2020.   We were so glad to share a Rotary smile!

News From Meriwether County Rotary

Stories about the recent activities of our club. Learn more »

Since 1985, Rotary has invested hundreds of millions of dollars in the effort to rid the world of the polio virus.

Wild Polio Cases

Club Toolkit

A comprehensive source for Club officers, district leaders and everyday Rotarians. Learn more »


#4149 chartered May 9, 1947.
Sponsored by the Rotary Club of Columbus.
Active Membership: 18

Tuesdays, 12:00 pm
First Baptist Warm Springs

5700 Spring Street
Warm Springs, GA 31830

Meeting location is the Baptist Church in Warm Springs, Georgia.

Contact Info
PO Box 664
Warm Springs, GA 31830

Leadership Team


Al Griffin
Lisa Thompson
Lisa Thompson
Foundation Chair
Laurie Lewis
Membership Chair
Dawn Woodard
Public Image Chair
Kay Williamson

Club Staff

Executive Secretary/Director
Laurie Lewis

Rotary District 6900

District Governor
Mary Ligon
Assistant Governor
Susan Ferguson
GRSP Trustee
Mohammed Jaleel
District Governor Elect
George Granade
District Governor Nominee
André Marria
District Trainer
Anthony Slaughter
District Foundation Chair
Cheryl Greenway
District Membership Chair
Jaclyn Donovan
District Service Chair
Neill Ferrill
District Public Image Chair
Narayan Sengupta
District Treasurer
Teri White

Rotary International

Rotary President
Shekhar Mehta
Rotary Foundation Trustee Chair
John F. Germ
General Secretary
John Hewko